

COUNCIL

Monday, 16 March 2009 11.00 a.m.

Council Chamber, Council Offices, Spennymoor

AGENDA REPORTS





This document is also available in other languages, large print and audio format upon request

(Arabic) العربية

إذا أردت المعلومات بلغة أخرى أو بطريقة أخرى، نرجو أن تطلب ذلك منا.

বাংলা (Bengali)

যদি আপনি এই ডকুমেন্ট অন্য ভাষায় বা ফরমেটে চান, তাহলে দয়া করে আমাদেরকে বলুন।

(中文 (繁體字)) (Cantonese)

如欲索取以另一語文印製或另一格式製作的資料,請與我們聯絡。

हिन्दी (Hindi)

यदि आपको सूचना किसी अन्य भाषा या अन्य रूप में चाहिये तो कृपया हमसे कहे

polski (Polish)

Jeżeli chcieliby Państwo uzyskać informacje w innym języku lub w innym formacie, prosimy dać nam znać.

ਪੰਜਾਬੀ (Punjabi)

ਜੇ ਇਹ ਜਾਣਕਾਰੀ ਤੁਹਾਨੂੰ ਕਿਸੇ ਹੋਰ ਭਾਸ਼ਾ ਵਿਚ ਜਾਂ ਕਿਸੇ ਹੋਰ ਰੂਪ ਵਿਚ ਚਾਹੀਦੀ, ਤਾਂ ਇਹ ਸਾਥੋਂ ਮੰਗ ਲਓ।

Español (Spanish)

Póngase en contacto con nosotros si desea recibir información en otro idioma o formato.

(Urdu) اروو

اگرآپ کومعلومات کسی دیگرزبان یا دیگرشکل میں در کار ہوں تو برائے مہربانی ہم سے پوچھئے۔

AGENDA

1. APOLOGIES

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

To notify the Mayor of any items that appear later in the agenda in which you may have an interest.

3. LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 - SECTION 249 HONORARY ALDERMEN
Report of Chief Executive. (Pages 1 - 4)

B. Allen Chief Executive

Council Offices <u>SPENNYMOOR</u> 6th March 2009

Councillor J. Robinson J.P (Mayor) and

All other Members of the Council

ACCESS TO INFORMATION

Any person wishing to exercise the right of inspection in relation to this Agenda and associated papers should contact Liz North 01388 816166 ext 4237 email:enorth@sedgefield.gov.uk



Item 3

REPORT TO SPECIAL COUNCIL

16TH MARCH 2009

REPORT OF CHIEF EXECUTIVE

LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 – SECTION 249 HONORARY ALDERMAN

1. Summary

- 1.1 At its meeting on 27th March 1992 the Council agreed, in principle, to the introduction of the office of Honorary Alderman. (Minute No: C.104/91 refers).
- 1.2 Members will recall that the title is bestowed on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent services to the Authority as past Members of the Council.
- 1.3 New regulations have now been introduced that follow this precedent whereby serving Members of this Council can be created Aldermen and thereafter will become Aldermen of the new unitary authority when the Borough Council ceases to exist on 31st March 2009.

2. Recommendation:

That consideration be given to bestowing the office of Honorary Alderman on the Members of the Council listed in Paragraph 4.1.

3. Honorary Alderman – New Regulations

- 3.1 In accordance with Regulation 32 of the Local Government (Structural Changes) (Transitional Arrangements) (No. 2) Regulations 2008 the Council took the opportunity at its meeting on 27th February 2009 to reconsider it existing practice in the appointment of Honorary Alderman.
 - After due consideration the Council resolved (Min. No. C.64/08 refers) to amend its qualifying criteria and as a result 22 Members have been identified as fulfilling the revised criteria and can be awarded the title of Honorary Alderman.
- 3.2 The holders of the office may attend and take part in such civic ceremonies as Durham County Council may decide but the office confers no specific rights of attendance at meetings of the Council or its Committees, other than those enjoyed by members of the public.

4. Statutory Procedure

4.1 In accordance with the procedure set out in Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972, this Special Meeting of Council has been convened for the specific purpose of conferring the title on the 22 Members who have been identified as fulfilling the necessary criteria and who are as follows:-

| Councillor Mrs. A.M. Armstrong | Councillor Mrs. L. Hovvels | | |
|--------------------------------|--|--|--|
| Councillor B.F. Avery, JP | Councillor J.G. Huntington Councillor Ms. I. Jackson | | |
| Councillor W.M.Blenkinsopp | | | |
| Councillor J. Burton | Councillor J.M. Khan | | |
| Councillor V. Chapman | Councillor D.A. Newell | | |
| Councillor T.F. Forrest | Councillor B.M. Ord | | |
| Councillor Mrs. B. Graham | Councillor Mrs. C. Potts | | |
| Councillor A. Gray | Councillor J. Robinson, JP | | |
| Councillor G.C. Gray | Councillor A. Smith | | |
| Councillor J.E. Higgin | Councillor T. Ward | | |
| Councillor A. Hodgson | Councillor W. Waters | | |

4.2 Members are reminded that a resolution to confer the title must be passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon.

5 Scroll

5.1 The twenty two Members referred to above have indicated their willingness to accept the title of Honorary Alderman, and if agreed by Council, they will be presented with a framed parchment scroll in recognition of the honour bestowed.

Contact Officer: J. G. Turnbull Cabinet Secretary

Telephone No: (01388) 816166, Ext. 4392 **Email Address:** jturnbull@sedgefield.gov.uk

Ward(s)

Background Documents

- 1. Local Government Act 1972 Chief Executive's report to Council dated 27th March 1992 (Minute No: C.104/91).
- 2. Local Government (Structural Changes) (Transitional Arrangements) (No. 2) Regulations 2008.
- 3. Solicitor to the Council's report to Council dated 27th February 2009

Examination by Statutory Officers

| | | Yes | Not Applicable |
|----|--|-----|-------------------------|
| 1. | The report has been examined by the Council's Head of the Paid Service or his representative | V | |
| 2. | The content has been examined by the Council's S.151 Officer or his representative | | \square |
| 3. | The content has been examined by the Council's Monitoring Officer or his representative | V | |
| 4. | The report has been approved by Management Team | | $\overline{\mathbf{V}}$ |

This page is intentionally left blank